Jentin Racing-BMW Motorrad wins British Superbike EVO Championship

Jentin Racing-BMW Motorrad wins British Superbike EVO Championship

Jentin Racing-BMW Motorrad rider Steve Brogan secured the inaugural British Superbike EVO Championship last Sunday at Oulton Park circuit in northwest England. In an action-packed and thrilling finale to what has been an exciting year’s racing, Steve took a win and two second places on his BMW S1000RR to secure the title ahead of runner-up Hudson Kennaugh.

The EVO class allows homologated machines with full Superbike racing rolling chassis, but with ‘stock’ engines in order to keep costs manageable. These machines run alongside the factory-spec Superbikes and also earn British Superbike Championship points, as well as EVO class points, making this series a true ‘championship within a championship’.

Brogan and the team headed to the Cheshire circuit for what would be one of their busiest race weekends of the year as the final round of the championship finishes with three races, one on Saturday and the usual two on Sunday giving a total of 75 points at stake for this series decider. With a vital eight-point lead going into this final triple-race round at his local track, Brogan knew that there was everything to play for and a lot of work to be done if he wanted to secure the inaugural trophy.

Having qualified in pole position, Brogan was in the lead for most of Saturday’s first race, but a daring move on the last corner by fellow title contender Hudson Kennaugh stuck, giving Brogan second place past the checkered flag. The race result left the S1000RR rider with a slender three point lead going into Sunday’s two races.

In the first race of the season’s final day, Brogan was the first BSB-EVO rider past the checkered flag and finished 11th overall, extending his series lead up to eight points once again. The final race of the day (and the season) saw Steve take an early lead over Kennaugh. With his South African rival keeping pace and remaining right behind him, Steve opted to let him pass and rode home to secure a safe second place in the race but, more importantly, securing the first ever British Superbike EVO title on his S1000RR.

Steve Brogan said, “I couldn’t have done this without all the guys in the Jentin Racing-BMW Motorrad team this year, they’ve all been fantastic, and of course everybody at BMW Motorrad UK, who I have to thank for giving me the superb S1000RR to ride this year.”

There were more BMW S1000RR bikes in action that weekend, although this time it was the Metzeler National Superstock 1000 Championship races that were being contested. The championship title had already been secured two rounds previously by BMW S1000RR rider Jon Kirkham, who went on to round off his Superstock 1000 championship season in style on his #10 RR, beating 2008 title holder and Honda rider Glen Richards in both races to secure a double victory at one of his favorite circuits.

Jentin Racing-BMW Motorrad rider Tristan Palmer secured third place in both the Metzeler National Superstock 1000 Championship and in the final race of the year, having finished just off the podium in fourth place in the first race on Saturday. Had Palmer finished one place higher in either race, he would have secured second in the championship, making it a ‘one-two’ for BMW Motorrad in its first year contesting this national Superstock title.

Tristan Palmer said, “That was a tough race. I’m still suffering with flu and I was pretty tired. The last few laps I was really struggling. But I’m really pleased with the race result and the overall standings. It’s great to get third in the championship, as the team really worked hard for it. I just wish I’d been able to get second for them!” BSB-EVO championship final standings

1) Steve Brogan – 431 (Jentin Racing-BMW Motorrad)
2) Hudson Kennaugh – 428 (Spitlaith Motorsport Aprilia)
3) Gary Johnson – 340 (AIM Suzuki)
5) Pauli Pekkanen – 306 (777RR Motorsport Suzuki)
4) Aaron Zanotti – 275 (Red Viper Spike Suzuki)

Metzeler National Superstock 1000 championship final standings

1) Jon Kirkham – 253 (Clarks BMW)
2) Glen Richards – 164 (Padgetts Honda)
3) Tristan Palmer – 162 (Jentin Racing-BMW Motorrad)
4) Howard Mainwaring – 121 (MSS Colchester Kawasaki)
5) Luke Quigley – 104 (BMW Formwise-Astro Racing)

Leave a reply