Racing Update: Mathieu Gines Celebrates Another BMW Win at the Nürburgring

Racing Update: Mathieu Gines Celebrates Another BMW Win at the Nürburgring

Just one week after the 2016 curtain raiser at the Lausitzring (DE), the Superbike IDM / International German Championship (IDM) held its second round of the season at the Nürburgring (DE) last weekend. The fastest man on track was again Mathieu Gines (FR) on his Van Zon-Remeha-BMW S1000RR. His teammate Jan Bühn (DE) celebrated his first podium finish in the Superstock class of the series.

Nuerburgring (GER) IDM German SBK 08th May 2016. Team VanZone Remeha BMW Rider Mathieu Gines #41 (FRA)-2
Team VanZone Remeha BMW Rider Mathieu Gines #41 (FRA)
Nuerburgring (GER) IDM German SBK 08th May 2016. Team VanZone Remeha BMW Rider Mathieu Gines #41 (FRA)
Mathieu Gines #41 (FRA) celebrates his race two win.

After dominating the practice sessions, Gines claimed pole-position with an advantage of 0.8 seconds. On Sunday, he took the win in race two, celebrating his second victory of the season. In race one, he had to settle for 13th overall and sixth in the Superbike class (IDM SBK), after the race stewards had spotted a jump-start and handed him a ride-through penalty. As a result, Gines had dropped down to 29th, before he started a catch-up. In both races, the Frenchman also set the fastest race lap. In the championship classification, he is now the sole leader with 80 points from four races. In the 2016 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy, Gines climbed from 21st to fifth position.

There was also reason for joy for his teammate Jan Bühn (DE), who secured his first podium finish in the Superstock class (IDM STK). Bühn was fifth overall and third in his class in race one. In race two he finished seventh overall and fourth in the class. Marco Nekvasil (AT), also a part of the Van Zon-Remeha-BMW quartet, crossed the line in sixth and ninth respectively. Pepijn Bijsterbosch (NL) also rode into the top 10 on his Van Zon-Remeha-BMW RR, finishing the second race in 10th. In race one, Bijsterbosch retired after a crash. A top 10 finish was also claimed by Bastien Mackels (BE / Wilbers-BMW-Racing), who was 10th in race one.

2016 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy.

So far, 108 BMW racers from 21 different nations have registered for the 2016 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy. This means last year’s 104 participants has already been exceeded. The BMW riders compete for 56 teams in 23 different championship classes. Registration for this year’s BMW Motorrad Race Trophy is open until June 30, 2016.

The top three of the Race Trophy standings remain unchanged this week. The classification is led by Raffaele De Rosa (IT / STK1000) with 125.25 Race Trophy points. Benjamin Colliaux (FR / FR EU) is second with 101.54 Race Trophy points. Third place is shared by EWC riders Dominik Vincon (DE) and Stefan Kerschbaumer (AT) with 100.95 points each (see full standings below).

2016 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy – Current Standings.

Status: May 11, 2016

Pos. Name (Nat.) Series / Class Points
1 Raffaele De Rosa (IT) STK1000 125.25
2 Benjamin Colliaux (FR) FR EU 101.54
3 Stefan Kerschbaumer (AT) EWC STK 100.95
3 Dominik Vincon (DE) EWC STK 100.95
5 Mathieu Gines (FR) IDM SBK 90.95
6 Lance Isaacs (ZA) RSA SBK 89.43
7 Jordi Torres (ES) WorldSBK 84.60
8 Daryn Upton (ZA) RSA SBK 83.71
9 Vincent Lonbois (BE) IRRC 83.18
10 Taylor MacKenzie (GB) BSB STK 73.91
11 Marco Nekvasil (AT) IDM STK 72.57
12 Michel Amalric (FR) FR EU 69.54
12 Kenny Foray (FR) FSBK 69.54
14 Jan Bühn (DE) IDM STK 64.57
15 Christian Iddon (GB) BSB SBK 63.60

16. Hernani Teixeira (FR/FR/FR EU/60.92), 17. Sébastien Le Grelle (BE/IRRC/53.45), 18. Markus Reiterberger (DE/WorldSBK/53.40), 19. David Bouvier (FR/FR EU/52.96), 20. Didier Grams (DE/IRRC/52.00), 20. Ian Hutchinson (GB/BSB STK/52.00), 22. Michael Laverty (GB/BSB SBK/50.80), 23. Joshua Elliott (GB/BSB STK/50.55), 24. Danilo Lewis (BR/BRSBK/50.00), 25. Luca Vitali (IT/STK1000/45.50), 26. Nicolas Grobler (ZA/RSA SBK/44.00), 27. Hudson Kennaugh (ZA/BSB STK/43.27), 28. Maximilian Scheib (CI/CEV/43.00), 29. Madjid Idres (FR/FR EU/42.46), 30. Joshua Brookes (AU/WorldSBK/39.80), 31. Bertrand Boyer (FR/FR EU/39.38), 32. Richard Cooper (GB/BSB SBK/38.80), 33. Florian Brunet-Lugardon (FR/FR EU/38.77), 34. Cyril Brunet-Lugardon (FR/FR EU/36.31), 35. Michael Rutter (GB/BSB STK/36.00), 36. Pekka Päivärinta/Kirsi Kainulainen (FI/SWC/35.36), 37. Santiago Barragán (ES/CEV/32.89), 38. Pepijn Bijsterbosch (NL/IDM STK/32.86), 39. Manu Dagault (FR/FR EU/32.00), 40. Garrick Vlok (ZA/RSA SBK/29.14), 41. Steve Rapp (US/AMA STK/28.80), 42. Karel Abraham (CZ/WorldSBK/27.00), 43. Camille Hedelin (FR/EWC SBK/26.26), 43. Clive Rambure (FR/EWC SBK/26.26), 43. Nicolas Senechal (FR/EWC SBK/26.26), 46. Lee Jackson (GB/BSB SBK/23.60), 47. Julien Brun (FR/FR EU/20.92), 48. Adrián Bonastre (ES/CEV/19.00), 49. Petr Biciste (CZ/IRRC/18.91), 50. Justin Gillesen (ZA/RSA SBK/18.86), 50. Ronald Slamet (ZA/RSA SBK/18.86), 52. Eric Vionnet (CH/STK1000/17.25), 53. Alastair Seeley (GB/BSB SBK/16.40), 54. Matteo Ferrari (IT/CIV/15.75), 55. Ricky Lee Weare (ZA/RSA SBK/14.57), 56. Janez Prosenik (SI/EWC SBK/13.62), 57. Léon Benichou (FR/FR EU/13.54), 58. Etienne Nelson (ZA/RSA SBK/13.14), 50. Evert Stoffberg (ZA/RSA SBK/13.14), 60. Maxime Bonnot (FR/FSBK SBK/12.92), 61. Pedro Rodriguez (ES/CEV/12.60), 62. David Datzer (DE/IRRC/11.27), 63. Jeremy Cook (US/AMA STK/10.67), 64. Lukáš Pešek (CZ/EWC SBK/10.29), 65. Matthieu Lussiana (FR/WorldSBK/9.20), 66. Björn Stuppi (DE/IDM STK/7.71), 67. Federico D’Annunzio (IT/STK1000/7.50), 68. Pierre Bezuidenhout (ZA/RSA SBK/6.57), 69. Gauthier Duwelz (BE/STK1000/5.75), 69. Thomas Toffel (CH/STK1000/5.75), 71. Howie Mainwaring Smart (GB/BSB SBK/5.60), 72. Pascal Meslet (FR/FR EU/4.92), 73. Roberto Blazquez (ES/CEV/4.60), 74. Jakub Smrz (CZ/BSB SBK/3.20), 75. Sam West (GB/BSB STK/2.91), 76. John Krieger (ZA/RSA SBK/2.29), 77. Eric Dagault (FR/FR EU/1.23), 78. Elwyn Steenkamp (ZA/RSA SBK/1.14), 79. Michal Bidas (CZ/AARR STK/0.00), 79. Jacques Brits (ZA/RSA SBK/0.00), 79. Colin Butler (CA/MSC SBK/0.00), 79. Dominic Chang (SG/MSC STK/0.00), 79. Daniel Cooper (GB/BMW RRC/0.00), 79. Stefan Dolipski (DE/AMA STK/0.00), 79. Michael Dunlop (GB/BMW RRC/0.00), 79. Ryan Farquhar (GB/BMW RRC/0.00), 79. Michal Fojtik (CZ/AARR STK/0.00), 79. Dominic Herbertson (GB/BMW RRC/0.00), 79. Sabine Holbrook (DE/AARR SBK/0.00), 79. Davo Johnson (AU/BSB STK/0.00), 79. Lee Johnston (GB/BMW RRC/0.00), 79. Nasarudin Mat Yusop (MY/MSC STK/0.00), 79. Valter Patronen (FI/CEV/0.00), 79. Dominique Platet (FR/EWC SBK/0.00), 79. Michal Prášek (CZ/AARR STK/0.00), 79. Heinrich Rheeder (ZA/RSA SBK/0.00), 79. Mike Roscher/Anna Burkard (DE/SWC/0.00), 79. Joan Sardanyons (ES/CEV/0.00), 79. Denni Schiavoni (IT/CIV/0.00), 79. Michal Šembera (CZ/AARR SBK/0.00), 79. Paul Shoesmith (GB/BMW RRC/0.00), 79. Rene Skalicky (CZ/AARR STK/0.00), 79. Tomas Svitok (SK/AARR STK/0.00), 79. Jordan Szoke (CA/CSBK/0.00), 79. Martin Tritscher (AT/AARR STK/0.00), 79. Jacques van Wyngaardt (ZA/RSASBK/0.00), 79. Ben Young (GB/CSBK/0.00)

Leave a reply