BMW BoxerCup Races Return with Identical R nineT Racers

BMW BoxerCup Races Return with Identical R nineT Racers

From 2001 to 2004, BMW Motorrad thrilled spectators with a single-brand racing series, the international BMW Motorrad BoxerCup. Featuring identically prepared R1100S motorcycles, the closely-fought races were held on race weekends alongside events such as the MotoGP and World Superbike Championship (they were even raced in events at Daytona). Now, after announcing their intention to resurrect the race series last July using the new R nineT Racer, BMW Motorrad has announced dates and locations of the races. But unfortunately for US fans, they will be held just alongside races series in Europe. The new BMW Motorrad BoxerCup starts in spring 2018 with all riders on identical but modified BMW R nineT Racer bikes. The season opener will be held on June 23-24, 2018 as part of the ADAC Classic at the Sachsenring in Germany. The other races take place as part of the International German Motorcycle Championship (IDM).

BMW R nineT Racers seen at the 2017 IDM Finale.

“A level playing field with identical machines meeting style and individuality. We are looking forward to bringing the BMW Motorrad BoxerCup back to life with the BMW R nineT Racer, and to thrilling the crowds at the racetracks with that emotional Boxer engine,” says Henning Putzke, Head of BMW Motorrad Deutschland.

Markus Reiterberger (GER) on the R nineT Racer at the 2017 IDM Finale.

Regulations promise thrilling action, with victory and defeat being determined solely by the ability and determination of the racers. The riders will be on BMW R nineT Racer sport machines with air/oil-cooled 1,170cc boxer engines, producing 110 HP (81 kW). All the race bikes boast identical modifications, including redesigned front forks and dampers from Wilbers, cylinder head covers, engine spoilers and rear panels from Ilmberger, sports shocks and titanium manifold from Akrapovič, BMW Motorrad ABS with racing software, Brembo brake pads, the “High End” steering dampers from Müller Präzision, and uniform Metzeler tires.

All motorcycles will be prepared for competitive racing at the BMW Motorrad Center in Munich. Side stands, mirrors, number plate holders, indicators and lights were all removed to accommodate the racing modifications. However, once the season is over, the bike can be returned to its original state and be approved for road use.

To ensure that all competitors have the same chance of success, no changes — apart from optical modifications to the paintwork, or the application of stickers or film — are permitted, beyond those made in Munich. All technical components and wear parts are precisely specified and regulated. No tuning is permitted whatsoever.

Both the new R nineT Racer and R1100S BoxerCup on display last year.

The starting field for the BMW Motorrad BoxerCup will feature 30 places for the new season. In addition to the regular starters, well-known guest riders will take part in the races on two VIP bikes. Riders over 18 years of age and in possession of a national B license (or higher), or a comparable license from another FIM federation, can apply to take part. Buying one of the BoxerCup special edition BMW R nineT Racers is another precondition for competition. Participants can choose between four different performance packages when making their purchase. The offer includes the basic package, which just includes the bike, and stretches all the way to the VIP package, including transport and storage of the bike, insurance, catering on race weekends and other advantages. BMW Motorrad also enables the race bikes to be rented for the entire 2018 season, as an alternative to purchasing one. Registration is open now at

The series comprises a total of six race events. After the first race at the ADAC Classic, round two is scheduled for July 7-8 in Zolder, Belgium. This is followed by the races at Schleiz, Germany (July 28-29), at the Lausitzring near near Klettwitz, Germany (August 25-26), and on the legendary TT Circuit in Assen, Netherlands (September 8-9). The finale will then take place on September 29-30 at Hockenheim, Germany.

Leave a reply