GS Trophy 2014: South African Team Selected

GS Trophy 2014: South African Team Selected

The team that will represent South Africa at the International GS Trophy 2014 has been announced after a selection weekend at Country TRAX, Mpumalanga in South Africa. Sixteen GS riders from South Africa entered and arrived at Country TRAX on the first weekend of August to battle for the three international team positions. In association with key sponsor Touratech South Africa, the event commenced with a night ride and continued through the weekend with various challenging tests of riding skill, teamwork, endurance, navigation, technical knowledge and leadership. The exercises were conducted by a team of marshals under Jan “Staal” du Toit’s guidance.


Jan and Country TRAX have been part of the GS Challenge/GS Trophy concept since its inception and the participants were subjected to tasks typically encountered at the actual event. The individual and team performances of the participants and the selection criteria set by the GS Trophy organizers at BMW Motorrad in Germany were applied, and the following riders qualified in order of ranking during the selections:


First: Ruan de Lange (Cape Town / R1200GS)
Second: Francois vd Heever (Johannesburg / F800GS)
Third: Jaco vd Linde (Hartebeespoortdam / F650GS Dakar)
Reserve: Morné Fitzhenry (Aberdeen in die Karoo! / F800GS)



Leave a reply